Books Mark Billingham text and Photo  
Mark Billingham leaning against wall

The shortlist for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel Of The Year Award 2005 was :

Lazybones by Mark Billingham
The Murder Exchange by Simon Kernick
The Distant Echo by Val McDermid
A Question of Blood by Ian Rankin
The American Boy by Andrew Taylor
Disodered Minds by Minette Walters

After more than 4000 votes had been cast, the award was presentedon the opening night of the 2005 Harrogate Crime Writing Festival. Radio 4's Jenni Murray chaired an event at which those shortlisted authors present read from their books and were questioned about why they came to write them. Then, before anyone could get too drunk, the all-important envelope was opened and the winner was announced.

I could not be more thrilled to receive an award that was voted for by readers and to be picked as the winner from such an amazing shortlist.

Thanks again to all those who took the trouble to cast a vote.